Just One Thing

I know you couldn’t have lived forever, and there are moments in the future when I’m 60, 70 or 80 when I might wish I could’ve told you something. But this one was so close. Less than three months after you died, and I can’t call you to tell you the good news. I can’t hear your voice, I can’t see your green eyes – the ones I inherited alone among your grandchildren – light up at hearing what you’d been waiting to hear for almost six years.

I’m a grown woman and my life is my own, but oh there are days. Today is one of those days I would’ve liked to have shared with you, my biggest cheerleader and most wonderful grandfather.

Leave a Reply

