She

She is the reason I can’t give up.

Her darkening hair curls just at the tips, as if part of her still wants to be playful outwardly.

She has seen so much hurt and still keeps herself open to love in the world.

She grabs my face in her hands, forehead pressed against mine, “do you know how much I love you?”

Music comes on after the closing credits of a movie, she jumps up.

“Dance with me!”

She dances at the drop of a hat, her body swaying to music only she can hear.

She insists on holding my hand. Going to bed, she puts her hands on my face again and kisses me.

“Do you know how much I love you, Mommy? A big much. I love you a big much.”

She is the reason I can’t give up. She’s my everything, and the reason I’m still alive.

Wrapped up in a four year old’s body, she is my life.

4 responses to “She

  1. Pingback: The View From Here | Kol B'Isha Erva·

  2. Please never give up. I see from your writing that you are such a special person. Your sensitivity and caring is precious in this world.

    Your daughter sounds adorable!

Leave a Reply

