Where Is The Line?

How do we know when to draw the line between support and emotional dependency?

It’s a conversation I had with a new friend this past week, knowing that the support we can give is something that can easily drag you down your own dark hole. I’ve pulled away from several sucking conversations, only to regret them afterwards. Was there more I could’ve done? Could I have not dismissed it so easily?

Where is the line for ourselves? How many times can I dismiss myself when I know I’m struggling?

Can I ask for help? A support or a shoulder to lean on? I’m bereft and lonely. As the sole caregiver to my child, I’m scared. I can’t lose the only ray of sunshine in my life, yet asking for help almost guarantees separation.

What a horrible place to be.

Leave a Reply

