A Letter to the New Queen

To my kids’ step-mom,

You and I don’t know each other. We’re never going to be friends, but I hope we can be partners as you ramp up in your new role as Queen.

I don’t have to tell you how amazing my children are. My oldest needs to be friends with everyone, no matter how many times they hurt him. My second is the most sensitive, loving person I know. He sometimes gets words mixed up in his head, but he makes sense of order better than I ever could. I’m sure you know this, having been in their lives for a time.

When I left my family I had every intention of going back to get the two most precious things in the world to me. But that didn’t happen. The velt stood in between a mother and her children, and let a corrupt system dictate what my children could and could not be exposed to.

I hope you never know the pain of his wrath. It’s none of my business, but I hope if you do encounter the monster in your house you put a stop to it sooner than I could.

I’m not here to hate you. I know that you entered this marriage with the back story of a broken family and a crazy, absent mother. I’m neither of those things. I also know that I can’t change the reality of this situation we both find ourselves in, no matter how hard I try.

You are, whether you wanted to be or not, my kids’ new mother. As a mother to your own children, I know you would want them treated with love, respect, kindness and understanding. I’m asking you to do the same for my kids. Help my oldest to understand boundaries and limitations, and help my second understand that just because he can’t make sense of the words on a page he most certainly is not stupid. Don’t punish my kids for things they can’t change, or punish them because I get in the way of a closed family unit.

For my part, I promise never to disparage you. I ask my children questions about their new baby sister, even though it breaks my heart they’ll have a closer relationship with a half-sibling than a full one.

I’ve made a promise to parent them according to rules I no longer believe in, because I would do anything for my children. I’m sure you can see this, maybe you can one day help them see it to.

With respect,

C.

Leave a Reply

